UbiComp Steering Committee


History of the Conference Series

In 1999, the Handheld and Ubiquitous Computing conference was held in Karlsruhe, Germany, and this was held again in 2000, in Bristol, UK. In 2001, the conference changed its name to the International Conference on Ubiquitous Computing and was held in Atlanta, USA. This conference series continued through to 2012, in Pittsburgh, USA. In 2002, a conference series was established on Pervasive Computing, with the inaugural conference being held in Zurich, Switzerland. This conference series also continued through to 2012, in Newcastle, UK. In 2012, the community decided to merge the Pervasive Computing conference and the Ubiquitous Computing conference, to offer a single venue for the leading worldwide research in Pervasive and Ubiquitous computing. The first joint conference (International Joint Conference on Pervasive and Ubiquitous Computing aka UbiComp) was held in 2013, in Zurich, Switzerland, and the joint conference series continues today. In 2017, the content for the paper tracks at the UbiComp conference converted to being drawn from papers published in the new journal Proceedings of the ACM on Interactive, Mobile, Wearable, and Ubiquitous Technologies (PACM IMWUT).


Steering Committee Responsibilities

The Steering Committee is responsible for the following:

  • promoting and maintaining the UbiComp conference as the premiere venue for researchers and practitioners interested in all aspects of ubiquitous and pervasive computing;
  • ensuring the highest quality for the contents of the event;
  • deciding where the UbiComp conference is held each year;
  • providing advice to the current and future chairs of the Ubicomp conference;
  • resolving general issues involved with the UbiComp conference;
  • running the 10-year best paper selection process;
  • awarding the outstanding student award

Steering Committee Membership

At most three representatives from each completed conference join the SC shortly after the conference, with a five year term. Typically, the representatives for a conference are chosen from the General and Technical Program chairs. If there are more than 3 volunteers from a conference, the SC will decide on who to take on (see Voting Process below). In addition, the senior editors of the PACM IMWUT Editorial Board are all members of the UbiComp Steering Committee, as are the Chair and Vice Chair of the ISWC Steering Committee. These conference representatives are all voting members of the SC. The current members thus are:

  • Chair: Robert Harle, University of Cambridge, UK (UbiComp/ISWC 2019)
  • Rajesh Balan, Singapore Management University, Singapore (UbiComp/ISWC 2018)
  • Andreas Bulling, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany (UbiComp/ISWC 2016)
  • Anind K. Dey, University of Washington, USA (Ubicomp/ISWC 2019)
  • Lucy E. Dunne, University of Minnesota, USA (Ubicomp/ISWC 2019)
  • Tao Gu, Macquarie University, Australia (IMWUT Editor)
  • Kai Kunze, Keio University, Japan (ISWC SC Chair)
  • Kristof van Laerhoven, Universty of Siegen (ISWC SC Vice-chair, UbiComp/ISWC 2020)
  • Seungyon "Claire" Lee, Google, USA (UbiComp/ISWC 2017)
  • Youngki Lee, Singapore Management University, SMU (UbiComp/ISWC 2018)
  • Paul Lukowicz, DFKI, Germany (UbiComp/ISWC 2016)
  • Cecilia Mascolo, University of Cambridge (UbiComp/ISWC 2018)
  • Shwetak Patel, University of Washington, USA (UbiComp/ISWC 2016)
  • Thomas Ploetz, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA (IMWUT Editor)
  • Silvia Santini, Università della Svizzera Italiana, Switzerland (Ubicomp/ISWC 2013, IMWUT EiC)
  • Flora Salim, RMIT, Australia (UbiComp/ISWC 2020)
  • Leila Takayama, UC Santa Cruz, USA (UbiComp/ISWC 2017)
  • Monica Tentori, CICESE, Mexico (UbiComp/ISWC 2020)
  • Nadir Weibel, UCSD, USA (UbiComp/ISWC 2020)

Community Input

If you would like to interact with the UbiComp Steering Committee or have any questions or input on the UbiComp conference series, you are welcome to email any committee member or join us on the UbiComp Meta online Facebook community.


SC Chair Emeritus/Emerita

  • Koji Yatani, University of Tokyo, Japan (2019 -- 2021)
  • Julie Kientz, University of Washington, USA (2017 -- 2019)
  • Anind Dey, CMU, USA (2015 -- 2017)
  • Judy Kay, University of Sydney, Australia (2013 -- 2015)
  • James Scott, Microsoft Research, UK (2011 -- 2013)
  • Joe McCarthy, Intel Research, USA (-- 2011)